## NATURAL PRODUCTS

## Celebration of Volume 75 of the Journal of Natural Products

he year 2012 marks the 75th issue of the Journal of Natural Products and its predecessor journal Lloydia. At its inception in 1938, Lloydia was a quarterly journal focusing primarily on mycology and plant anatomy. It became the official scientific organ of the American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP) in 1961, when it began to have more of a chemical emphasis on natural products. The name was changed to the Journal of Natural Products in 1979, and the journal became a monthly publication in 1992, having been published bimonthly since 1975. In 1996, a significant change occurred when the journal became a copublication of the American Chemical Society and ASP. It is planned to celebrate the current milestone indicating the longevity of this publication, in a symposium dedicated to the Journal of Natural Products at the forthcoming International Congress on Natural Products Research to be held in New York City during the period July 28 to August 1, 2012. Three distinguished natural product scientists who are frequent contributors to the journal will participate in this symposium.

The March 2012 issue of the *Journal of Natural Products* will be dedicated to Dr. Gordon M. Cragg, formerly Chief, Natural Products Branch, National Cancer Institute (NCI), Frederick, Maryland. In addition to his past work in developing new anticancer drugs from natural product sources, Dr. Cragg is very well known for his great interest in the international development of natural products research. Drs. Vanderlan Silva da Bolzani, Michael T. Davies-Coleman, David J. Newman, and Sheo B. Singh are serving as Guest Editors for this special issue.

This year, the first of two journal cover illustrations to be used shows a grouping of marine and terrestrial organisms from which either marketed anticancer drugs or antineoplastic agents currently in phase clinical trials have been obtained, either in their natural form or as semisynthetic derivatives, and for which the relevant structures are overlaid. This was provided by Dr. David J. Newman, of NCI, Frederick, Maryland. The cover illustration for the second half of 2012 will feature a motif to be provided by Dr. Rohan Davis, Griffith University, Queensland, Australia.

The Arthur E. Schwarting and Jack L. Beal Awards for best annual papers were named after two former editors of J. Nat. Prod. and have now been given for over a decade, creating considerable additional interest in the journal as a result. The winning papers for 2010 (selected in 2011) were as follows. Schwarting Award (open to all corresponding authors): Hyukjae Choi, Alban R. Pereira, Zhengzu Cao, Cynthia F. Shuman, Niclas Engene, Tara Byrum, Teatulohi Matainaho, Thomas F. Murray, Alfonso Mangoni, and William H. Gerwick (J. Nat. Prod. 2010, 73, 1411-1421). Beal Awards (contribution submitted by a younger investigator as corresponding author; two awards made for 2010): Richard W. Fitch, Thomas F. Spande, H. Martin Garraffo, Herman J. C. Yeh, and John W. Daly (J. Nat. Prod. 2010, 73, 331-337) and Kerry L. McPhail, Donald J. Armstrong, Mark D. Azevedo, Gary M. Banowetz, and Dallice I. Mills (J. Nat. Prod. 2010, 73, 1853-1857). Many congratulations are due to Drs. Gerwick, Fitch, and McPhail

and their coauthors! These papers and those of all past winners of the Schwarting and Beal Awards may be readily accessed on the journal Web page (http://pubs.acs.org/jnprdf).

A. Douglas Kinghorn, Editor-in-Chief

Published: December 14, 2011

